As I mentioned last time, I ate an apple and some GF toast and started to feel like a human being again. It was kind of surprising how different I felt but I wasn’t prepared for how different I was going to feel 24 hours later.

On Tuesday I spent the day eating relatively “normally”. Here’s the run down:

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs over medium with two slices of GF toast
  • Lunch: Low-carb, low-sugar, protein bar (Quest bar)
  • Afternoon snack: 1 cup fresh strawberries
  • Dinner: 2 sushi rolls with raw fish which included approximately 1/2 cup white rice total
  • Night snack: 1 orange

I couldn’t believe how dramatically everything changed as a result of adding back in such a small amount of carbs. I felt healthy again. I felt energetic not exhausted. The nausea and dizziness were gone. In the afternoon and evening I got a little tiny bit woozy and decided to have some fruit and the feeling instantly went away and I felt good again.

On Tuesday I also went back to tracking everything that I ate. For the past two days I’ve stayed in my ranges for carbs and protein and I’ve felt well, not perfect – I don’t want to overstate things, but pretty darn good. So much better than the past month and a half that I almost can’t believe it.

When I look back on the way I’ve been feeling physically the past six weeks, and what and how little I was eating, it seems almost dreamlike that I was walking around in such a fog. Today my stomach is full and my head is clear and while I’m still not eating junk and sweets I’m not looking at every piece of food as an enemy anymore. Which is nicer than I can express.

I’m going to stay hopeful that the scale isn’t going to show me that this is a terrible mistake. I think that if it becomes clear that the only way I can lose weight anymore is to starve myself like I’ve been these past weeks then I’m going to very seriously consider the possibility that fat and fit is going to have to be who I am from now on.

But, again, I’m done prognosticating. Today is today and I’ll worry about the rest of it when it happens because I admit I no longer know much of anything. And that’s ok!

