I’m not doing New Year’s Resolutions. They’ve always seemed to me like a set up for failure. They tend to be overly ambitious and unrealistic.

Real change comes slowly and deliberately. It does not come in bursts of frantic sweeping declarations.

The past 18 months have been extremely difficult for me. I’ve gained about 40 pounds and struggled with a depression so deep I really thought I wouldn’t ever get out of that hole.

My greatest hope for 2015 is simply that my life will gain some stability and peace.

That my fear, anxiety, and depression continue on their slow withdrawal.

That my son’s health issues stay stable.

That my daughter’s fears, anxiety, and depression are kept at bay.

That we can find the cause of my physical exhaustion and treat it effectively.

I’m seeking the strength to follow-through on the many things I have on my list of things to do and that I do it with patience and compassion towards myself.

I hope this year I can take more walks. They help in more ways than one.

I hope this year I drink more water each day. It helps in more ways than one.

I hope this year I write more on this blog. It helps in more ways than one.

I used to think that in order to write here on the blog I needed to have something profound to say. Something that would take up a few paragraphs or a page and that would be a coherent thought teased out to a place of clarity and understanding.

I didn’t have much of that in the past 18 months in my life so finding it to put on the blog was basically impossible.

Now, however, the blog isn’t about profound any more. It’s just about staying connected to myself and my journey. It’s my prayer, my meditation, my opportunity to reflect and find a measure of inner peace in and amongst the chaos of a normal life.

If that’s two sentences, so be it.

So for 2015: walks, water, writing. Patience, peace, and possibilities.

It’s more than I could have hoped for. And I’m glad.

