There are certain things that I know work for me mentally and things that I know work for me physically when I’m trying to stick to a food plan and lose weight. They aren’t always the same things, which can be confusing.

For example, coming out of this past relapse it was important for me to have a week of pure protein – low fat – pure protein. I stuck with the rules and it helped to reset my physical cravings.

But being so restrictive for a week was challenging for me emotionally and when I finished that week instead of moving straight to cruise I decided it made sense for me to stick with vegetable and protein days for a while.

Now, I think I’m at the end of the road with the V+P everyday. After doing that for two weeks I’m starting to feel out of my element.

There are times when routine is boring and depleting because you just want to be able to do other things.

Then there are times when routine is a comfort that keep the engines of progress fueled.

I’m ready for that comfort routine again and that means going back to Wednesday-Sunday V+P days and Monday & Tuesday PP days.

My face looks thinner and I’ve lost the bloated I-hate-wearing-clothes feeling so I think I’m on the right track.

More importantly, I feel more stable and have even weathered some disappointment like a champ, which is a huge indicator that I’m feeling better.

Now, I just have to get rolling with the new semester and get back on the old routine.

