Scale: 161

Change since one week ago: 0

Total down since starting: -28

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 6
  • Drink 64 oz water: 7
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 5

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

It’s funny how the mind works. I could have, would have, sworn that when I looked at my log a couple of weeks ago that the weight it showed from 8/15/2012 was 164.5 pounds.

That wasn’t correct. On 8/15/2013 my weight was 161.5 pounds.

Today, 8/14/2013 my weight is 161 pounds.

I suppose I should look at this through the lens that despite the error in memory my birthday wish still came true. Technically it did. But it doesn’t really feel that way.

I’m feeling glum this morning and it’s not because of the weight.  I know what to do about that. We ate out at restaurants three times this week which is a recipe for disaster. So, any weight gain avoided in light of that is a good thing.

No, I’m glum this morning because it’s my birthday and yesterday afternoon I hurt my lower back. I think it’s sprained. My lower back had been bothering me because it’s that time of the month, and yesterday morning I did a hour of yoga which didn’t really help it to feel better, which was odd. Then in the afternoon I took a long walk, about 4 1/2 miles and my back was still hurting. When I got back from the walk my daughter’s bike was lying on the edge of the parking lot and the sky looked like it was going to rain. I picked up the bike and went to slide it underneath the stairs where we keep it and as I twisted and reached my lower back felt like a rubber band that snapped.

I sort of laughed about it when it happened, because, what better birthday present is there than physical evidence that you’re getting old, right? I do try to have a sense of humor about things. But as the day progressed it got worse and worse going from discomfort when moving too much to genuine pain that prevented me from sleeping despite taking two Alleve and a muscle relaxer.

All I wanted today was to go to the beach and have some quiet time to myself. Now, I’m not sure I’ll be able to go to the beach and might in fact wind up at a physical therapist. It hurts so much that if I didn’t know there hadn’t been any fall or blow to my back I’d think my tail bone was broken.

Birthdays don’t go well for me.

In 48 hours I’m going to be traveling with my family to stay at a friend’s house for the weekend to go to my sister-in-law’s wedding where my children are the flower girl and ring bearer.

This is going to suck.

But that’s not positive thinking. I am trying to change my attitude so that I can try to hope for the best.

Ok, so, here is what I will do today:

I will take care of my back by not sitting too long or walking too much and taking the medicine I need to.

I will catch a ride on the shuttle to the beach and not be an idiot and try to walk there.

I will come home as soon as I’m too tired.

I will do things I enjoy without over exerting.

I will focus on the good.

For today.

