Tomorrow is my birthday.

Last year on my birthday I weighed 164.5 pounds.

That was during my focused weigh loss phase.

This year my goal for myself was to weigh less on my birthday than I did last year.

I’m weighing myself tomorrow morning as usual, even though it’s that time of the month again. I’m following through on the weigh-in because I need to show myself that I am more than the number on the scale but that the number on the scale still matters. That number is a reflection of my body and when I don’t like the number it’s usually because I don’t like what’s been happening to my body as the result of how I’m eating and that it gives me the knowledge and power to make the changes that I want.

This year, like last year, will be a chance to show myself that I am not ruled by my weight or by the scale, but that I have control over what happens to me. It will also be a chance to validate or analyze what I’ve been doing, how it’s working, and how I feel about it all.

If I like the number I see in the morning than hooray for me, Happy Birthday.

If I don’t like the number I see in the morning than oh well, I will keep on trucking.

I made a promise to myself that I will no longer be derailed by the scale but I will pay heed to the information it provides to me.

Tomorrow will be no different.

That is my birthday wish.

