Scale: 161

Change since two week ago: -3

Total down since starting: -28

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 7
  • Drink 64 oz water: 5
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 7

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

I’m going back to tracking myself with this level of detail because I know that it works to help keep me on track. Sometimes, I know it feels oppressive, but at other times it feels so reassuring to know that if I do the little things the big picture falls into place. In Overeaters Anonymous we called that “doing the footwork”.

For today doing the footwork feels very reassuring and comforting.

I think I didn’t actually “lose” 3 pounds this week. I think those three pounds I had put on in last week’s weigh-in were stress and tension related and they fell off quickly.

The largest change I made this week was on the exercise. I made sure to get my walk each day and I walked for an hour on 6 out of 7 days this week and on the last day I went to yoga for an hour. It feels good. It feels good emotionally as well as physically to get in that exercise. But, it is so hard to do when there are a million chores staring me down. I have a hard time prioritizing my exercise when there’s a basket of laundry, a grocery list, a stack of papers to grade, and dry cleaning to pick up. I have to work on granting myself permission and seeing exercising as more essential than all those other chores.

The next most significant change I made this week was that I added a third day of pure protein back into the weekly rotation. I’m not going back to “Cruise” per se, but until I get these 7 pounds I gained back off I think it’s a relatively minor adjustment that could really yield worth while results.

Lastly, I went back to eating a lot of my old staples from the days of “Cruise”: asparagus & ham wraps; cauliflower; yogurt. It’s not that I really stopped eating those things but this week I really returned to lean on them. Again, it was comforting.

The only area that really needs improvement is the writing. I was totally absent from the blog this week and that’s not a good thing. This is the hardest things to get done because it involves time alone, sitting, and thinking all at the same time. But, I can make it work.

Onward, with a hopeful heart.

