I weighed myself this morning (it is Wednesday after all) and the scale showed a drop to 157.5 pounds.

I confess that I’m baffled. I don’t have any idea why the scale bounced up as high as 160 and then back down to 157.5 lbs. In the last month I haven’t changed a thing from week to week. I’ve been sticking to my food plan and trying to tell myself not to over-think it. It seems that was the right strategy. I stuck to the plan, didn’t tinker or come up with crazy schemes, and so far it seems to have paid off.

Slow and steady wins the race.

Again, I’m still baffled by it. But, I can’t spend a lot of time dwelling on it. I’m trying to focus on the positive: the scale looked good this morning, I’m still happy and comfortable with the food plan, and my clothes feel good.

I remember in Overeaters Anonymous meetings hearing people talk about the importance of consistency in abstinence. Now I finally get it. Being reactive to the scale gets me nowhere except unstable and feeling undermined all the time. For some reason this is the weight my body wants to be. Whether the scale pops up or down it always returns to this weight, and that predates my last pregnancy.

So along with consistency must also come acceptance.

Tinkering and tweaking created stress and confusion. I don’t need anymore stress and confusion in my life right now. Selling a house, buying a house, and my parents moving in with us is enough stress and confusion thank you very much. That quota is filled.

I recognize it’s a lot easier to have this serenity when the scale says what it did this morning instead of last week. That irony is not lost on me. It’s easy to be accepting when you are accepting something you fundamentally want. But I’m hoping to take this as an easy lesson and not leave the meaning behind while only taking away the sense of relief.

Consistency. Consistency. Consistency.

I believe it will be my saving grace.

