We had a cool day and evening here today and I decided to take advantage of one of the last opportunities to have the oven on for a long time. The result is that I just ate a fantastic dinner, one of those where I don’t even think about missing the carbs, because I don’t!

I’d classify it as a recipe for the maintenance phase only because it’s got a fair amount of fat from the sausage. But if you are at a phase where you can handle it, then I highly recommend this recipe.

The recipe is mostly an ingredient list and you should feel free to mess with the quantities to suit it to your taste. Frankly, I just used what I had on hand.

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 sweet Italian sausage links
  • 2 red bell peppers, sliced into very thin strips
  • 2 vidalia onions, sliced into very thin strips
  • 1-2 lbs cherry or grape tomatoes (I used an amazing assortment of red, yellow, and orange cherry and grape tomatoes)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 large pinches kosher salt

 

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Put 1 tbsp oil in the bottom of a large oven proof dish. Add into the dish the sliced peppers and onions. Sprinkle with 1 large pinch of salt and toss to combine.
  • Place the pan in the preheated oven for 1 hour.
  • Meanwhile, pierce the sausage and place in a pot of water on the stove. Allow the water to come up to a boil and simmer until the sausages are mostly-cooked. Approximately 20 minutes. Then remove from the water and allow to cool.
  • Halve or quarter the tomatoes and set aside.
  • Cut the sausage into bite sized pieces and set aside.
  • After 1 hour in the oven remove the pan of peppers and onions. Add to the pan the tomatoes, the remaining salt, olive oil, and the balsamic vinegar. Toss to combine. Add in the sausage and toss to combine. Top with the Parmesan cheese and then return to the oven for 20 minutes.
  • After 20 minutes remove from oven and serve hot.
  • (My husband liked it with some red pepper flakes on top, but I ate mine without the spice.)
