One day at a time.

This has always been a super essential idea for me in my recovery. Partly because some days not eating something, or not eating anymore, has only been possible because I’ve been able to tell myself that I can just get through until bedtime.

But almost more importantly it’s crucial for me because, as a perfectionist who likes to be proactive, I tend to struggle with anxiety when there is something that I know will need to be done but I can’t do yet. Case in point, moving. We’re not moving until the middle of the summer, and I can’t even begin to think about packing because my semester isn’t over for another three weeks, but I’m frustrated because I know it will all need to get done and I want to get started. But I can’t.

Then I start to think about the whole project… packing up my whole entire house… and that makes me start to panic because some part of my brain wants to see it all done already and it’s not. Getting from here to there is totally overwhelming.

This is where the maxim of ‘one day at a time’ helps me immeasurably. I know that in the end everything will get done. One day at a time, I will pack. Not all at once. Just one box at a time, one room at a time, one day at a time, until it’s all taken care of.

When I look at it through this lens I am able to breathe.

One of the things that I love about my food plan with The Dukan Diet is that every day is just for today too. I eat a day of pure protein and when I want to eat a salad or carrots or my cauliflower pizza all I have to do is say to myself, “I can have the tomorrow,” and it’s not a trick, I actually can have it tomorrow.

In all ways ‘one day at a time’ reminds me to take my life in manageable chunks.

I use the calendar function in my phone as a way to make ‘to do lists’. Whenever I think of something that needs to get done I just think about what day it needs to be done on and then on that day in the calendar I put that item in as a reminder. Then, I can forget about it.

My life is full. Recovery has given me that gift. Staying aware enough to enjoy it is my job now. ‘One day at a time’ helps me do just that.

