So, I had gone back on the attack phase of the Dukan Diet two weeks ago and things went fairly well. It was pretty easy and although I know I ate higher fat foods than I should have technically done, it was a full 9 days carb-free and it felt good to be able to do it so easily.

It also taught me a little lesson because within a couple of days my face looked thinner already. My face gains weight first and loses weight first. This is something of a blessing and a curse in that it gives me immediate feedback when I start losing and that feels great, but once I’ve lost weight and then bounce back up a few pounds my face immediately looks heavier. This can be demoralizing. I realized that I have to let go of how my weight impacts my appearance.

That may sound totally counter intuitive, but when I’m focusing on maintaining my weight I can’t get caught up in looking at my face get a little puffy and then decide from that that the rest of me must look like I did when I was 30 pounds heavier. I’m not sure if that makes sense, but it makes sense in my head.

Anyway, when I got home and put on my clothes they all felt looser and more comfortable which was a relief.

But then I got my period and when I went to weigh in I’d lost only 1 pound. I expected myself to be disappointed, but in reality, I wasn’t. I guess I’m too distracted by other things in life right now and the idea that I weigh an amount that keeps my clothes fitting comfortably is enough for me right now.

For today, I’m thinking that as long as it’s not broken (and by this I mean sticking to my food plan isn’t an effort or bringing up feelings of deprivation) don’t fix it.  So, I’m back on my regular routine of 1 serving of fruit, 3 tbsp of oat bran, veggies, and protein five days a week and two days a week of pure protein. It keeps me sane, it keeps me focused, and it keeps my weight stable.

For today, this is good enough for me.

