Happy Memorial Day! I have shingles!

I’ve actually had it since last week but it’s finally really starting to get me down.

Last Wednesday I came home from the gym and there was a rash on the left side of my abdomen. At first I thought it might be some sort of heat rash since Monday and Tuesday had been so terribly hot, but I then had a flash of insight and somehow just knew it was shingles.

I got in to see a doctor the next day and my suspicion was confirmed. She put me on anti-viral medication, to hopefully slow down the virus duplicating and spreading. I have no idea how effective the anti-virals have been because I don’t know what it would have been like without them, but the rash is continuing to spread.

I went to the ER at midnight on Saturday night because it had spread to my face and I can feel the rash on the inside of my eyelid. Seriously. How gross. The doctor there told me that there wasn’t anything he could do for me since I was already on the medications they give for shingles, but he assured me it wasn’t on my eyeball, which was the super scary possibility that sent me to the ER in the first place.

Now, I’m just living with the unbearable itching and periodic stabbing pain. At least I’m sleeping though! It’s making me very foggy headed and sleepy. Of course, that might be the anti-virals contribution as well.

I’ve been on the attack phase for the past week, today is actually day 8. I plan to return to the cruise phase on Wednesday after my weigh in. It’s been surprisingly easy. But, that’s a subject of another post to come.

