So my husband and I decided to go back on the attack phase of the Dukan Diet this week. We’d both gained about 5-6 pounds this winter, up from our previous Dukan lowest weights, and while we felt good about our overall progress we both want to kick those pounds before they become an actual problem.

Truthfully, for me, I feel a little eager to see if I can get through this “set point” my body seems to have at 158.5 lbs. It seems to be a spot my body wants to be at, and if it really means it, then fine. Otherwise, I’d like to get 10-12 pounds lower. I haven’t been in the 140 lb range since I was in the 8th grade and I think I’d like to see it again.

Actually, I’d really like to land there: 146 pounds to be exact.

I don’t think I’ll make it. I think that I will wind up maintaining over the 150 lb mark, but unlike ever before in my life, it feels good to have a goal.

It seems strange to hear myself say that. For most of my life the idea that I was arm’s reach from my goal and never meeting it would have felt like some diabolical deprivation plot. How frustrated can I make myself?

But now, with this food plan, proteins and veggies, it seems like having that goal is something that doesn’t deprive me, it just keeps me in check. It keeps me from thinking that I’m at goal and therefore I’m off the hook.

“Off the hook” thinking is, of course, what lead me to gain back weight plus more after every successful weight loss attempt I’ve ever had in my life.

But, that cycle is broken for me. At least for today.

For today, the best thing I can do for myself is keep a goal. Keep my eyes on a prize. While at the same time reminding myself of where I’ve come from so I can be happy with where I am while I keep on chugging.

