So, as you know I am ever on a quest for using the oat bran (a daily requirement on The Dukan Diet) in interesting ways. I’ve made batches upon batches of different kinds of muffins that are delicious and satisfying and feel decadent   But now, I topped myself and I’ve got to write it down or I might forget!

I decided that since the vanilla muffins have really turned out nicely maybe I could find a way to take that basic recipe and make it savory instead of sweet. I doctored the recipe a bit, put it in a loaf pan, and then sprinkled the top with some flax seeds for prettiness. Forty five minutes later out of my oven came a loaf of bread.

Now, Wonder Bread this is not. It’s more the color and texture of something that you’d think could sustain a hobbit on a long walking journey. But it sliced beautifully and had such a lovely, rich, and hearty flavor my husband kept asking for another slice. I made a mushroom and feta cheese spread that it went with beautifully and for lunch I had two thin slices with two eggs over easy. Runny yolks again! Yippee!

I told my husband that I’m probably going to eat too much of it in the first couple of days just because of the novelty but then the true test will come: will the fact that it looks like, seems like, and tastes like bread mess with my head? I hope not, but I’m staying open to the possibility for the sake of honesty and my recovery which I don’t want to jeopardize for this.

However, I will say that we seem to be off to a good start because after eating two slices with my eggs I left the loaf out on the counter for a couple of hours. When I came back later to clean up I put it away in an air tight container and didn’t sneak any bites. That’s a good sign. But, we shall see.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp finely ground oat bran (I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oat Bran)
  • 1 cup ground flax seed
  • 1 cup non-fat dry milk powder
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp guar gum
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp Herbs de Provence
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 container plain non-fat Greek yogurt (6 oz)
  • Handful of whole flax seeds for topping the bread.

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Whisk together the wet ingredients in a measuring cup.
  • Stir together until totally combined.
  • Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray and pour in the batter. Sprinkle the whole flax seeds on top.
  • Bake for approximately 45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean and top is golden brown.
  • Allow it to cool in the pan for 10 minutes and then turn it out onto a cooling rack.
  • Slice with a bread knife and store in an air tight container in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

Amazing stats:
1 loaf = 20 slices
1 slice = 1 serving
1 serving:

  • 71 calories
  • 5 grams of carbs
  • 3.4 grams of fiber
  • 5.2 grams protein
