I’m still thinking about going back on the attack phase… I’ve gained a few pounds and I know why: I’ve been eating more fat.

Staying away from the carbs has, frankly, been pretty easy all this time. I’m not really interested in them anymore and I’m feeling healthier and happier. But seeing the scale pop up the way it did is a little scary and I don’t want to get caught in a terrible push-pull with the scale. That only results in me getting bruised.

So, for a while now I’ve been thinking about going back on the attack phase and then going back to cruise to get off those few pounds I’ve put back on and push onward to my goal of 145 lbs.

There are two possible problems here that I see and I’m not sure how to assess them:

1. What if being off carbs for so long means that I can’t just hop right back to the attack phase and have it work? I suspect that if I follow attack to the letter and reduce the fat content of my food I’ll see some results, but part of me is nervous anyway. I feel so comfortable in this eating plan that if it “betrays” me by not working again I’m not sure what emotional reaction I’ll have.

2. What if I get that weight off and I just keep lowering my target weight?

I think it’s safe to say that these two fears boil down to: What if I fail? What if I succeed?

I can really mess with my own head right?

I’m trying to follow the Overeaters Anonymous maxim of “don’t just do something, sit there”. I’m trying to sit with my feelings and figure out what the best course of action for me is, if any.

At the same time I’d love any feedback from anyone who’s tried to head back into attack after following the plan pretty faithfully. I’ve been finding stuff online about people who went back after falling off the wagon entirely, but that’s not me and I suspect it doesn’t apply.

 

 

