I usually hate articles entitled things like, “Weight Loss Fact and Fiction, What Works and What Doesn’t” because even though they are written by doctors, who are supposed authorities on weight loss, they never resonate with my personal experience. And since my personal experience has been a lifetime of experience, I dislike having my lifetime discounted.

But this article, with the weighty title listed above (pun intended), was a relief to read. Truth be told, I almost didn’t click on the link to read the article because I was afraid it would upset me. But, in the end I’m glad I did.

What a relief to have someone in a position of authority acknowledge what I’ve experienced. It took a huge change in my life, my attitude, my eating, my relationship to food to get me a 90+ pound weight loss. Then, I had to do it again after my son was born and it took four years to work up the courage, but when I did, that huge effort at huge change rewarded me with the loss of those last 35 pounds (again).

What I fight against everyday in my effort to maintain my weight loss is the idea that I can ever go back to my old eating habits. I want to, don’t get me wrong, and there are plenty of sources out there that want me to think that it’s best for me if I “don’t exclude whole food groups” from my diet. But refined carbs (anything other than non-starchy vegetables and occasional fresh fruit) just don’t work with my body or my mind.

My brain is still a little foggy from the sinus infection that’s not gone and lack of sleep last night so forgive me if I’m not making sense. I’ll boil it down.

Minor changes have never helped me. The slope back to prior ways of eating has always been too slippery. But making big change is scary and difficult and still hard to stick to. This article acknowledges that difficulty and the enormity of the task. I appreciated hearing it.

