I’ve been reviewing my progress over the past 8 months and a couple people have asked me about the Dukan Diet specifically so I thought I’d go back and post some info on how I progressed through the diet.

I started with a 7 day Attack Phase. In the book he recommends anywhere from 3-10 days of attack depending on how much weight you want to lose. I wanted to lose 30 pounds when I started out and my “all-in” impulses pushed me towards doing 10 days but I was realistic enough to realize that I wouldn’t last and I wanted to try something I knew I could handle, which was one week.

This is the food plan I followed that week*:

Day 1:
Breakfast: Plain Greek Yogurt; 1.5 tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and Splenda
Lunch: Shrimp
Snack: 1 hard boiled egg; 1 low-fat cheese stick
Dinner: Broiled chicken breast with rosemary and balsamic vinegar
Drinks: 32 oz water; 16 oz tea; 8 oz chicken broth

Day 2:
Breakfast: 1.5 tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and Splenda; 2 slices deli ham, 1 Laughing Cow Light cheese wedge, 1 low-fat cheese stick
Lunch: Scrambled eggs: 1 whole egg, 1/4 cup egg whites, 2 Laughing Cow Light cheese wedges, 4 slices deli ham
Snack: –
Dinner: Broiled Pork Chop; Hot milk with vanilla and Splenda
Drinks: 40 oz water; 16 oz tea; 24 oz skim milk

Day 3:
Breakfast: tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, Splenda, 1/4 cup non-fat plain Greek Yogurt
Lunch: 2 hard boiled eggs; 2 Laughing Cow Light cheese wedges, 4 slices deli ham; 1 6 oz non-fat Greek Yogurt
Snack: –
Dinner: Salmon with ginger, garlic, soy sauce, and sesame seeds
Drinks: 40 oz water; 16 oz tea; 16 oz non-fat latte

Day 4:
Breakfast: 1 low-fat cheese stick; 2 slices low-fat cheddar & 2 oz sliced turkey
Lunch: 1 hard boiled egg; 1.5 tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, Splenda, 1/4 cup non-fat plain Greek Yogurt
Snack: 1 low-fat cheese stick; 1 Laughing Cow Light cheese wedge
Dinner: Roasted pork loin
Drinks: 48 oz water; 16 oz tea; 12 oz skim milk

Day 5:
Breakfast: 1.5 tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, Splenda, 1/4 cup non-fat plain Greek Yogurt
Lunch: 1 slice pork roast; 1 round Mini-Baby Bell Light cheese
Snack: Some full fat cheese
Dinner: Broiled swordfish, cauliflower, salad
Drinks: 32 oz water; 16 oz tea; 32 oz diet soda

Day 6:
Breakfast: Scrambled eggs: 1 whole egg, 1/4 cup egg whites, 2 slices low-fat cheese, 4 slices deli turkey
Lunch: 1.5 tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, Splenda, 1/4 cup non-fat plain Greek Yogurt
Snack: 2 low-fat cheese sticks, 1 wedge Laughing Cow Light cheese
Dinner: Leftover swordfish; 1 6 oz non-fat Greek yogurt
Drinks: 54 oz water; 16 oz tea; 8 oz SF Sobe

Day 7:
Breakfast: 1.5 tbsp oat bran cooked in skim milk with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, Splenda, 1/4 cup non-fat plain Greek Yogurt
Lunch: 1 hard boiled egg; 2 wedges Laughing Cow Light Cheese 4 slices deli ham
Snack: –
Dinner: Non-fat Greek Yogurt; 2 low-fat cheese sticks
Drinks: 46 oz water; 16 oz tea; 10 oz SF Sobe

During this week, I lost 6.5 pounds. I was able to keep the weight off as I moved into the second phase of the diet, Cruise.

The first few days of Attack were really hard. My husband was away on a business trip for the first three days which made it much easier in that I didn’t have to try to cook for him, but it was harder because there wasn’t anyone there to keep me honest. I found that what worked was to eat my dinner while the kids were eating and then to simply go up to my room after I put them to bed. Keeping me off the same floor of the house where the kitchen was helped me not cave into the desire to eat off plan. But after those first few days the desire to eat off plan subsided and it wasn’t an issue anymore.

That first week I deviated from the plan for one meal because we had invited friends over for dinner before I began the diet. That was the night that I ate vegetables. I broiled swordfish, roasted some cauliflower with garlic and red pepper flakes, and made a green salad. That day I also ate some full fat cheese that I had put out as an appetizer tray. But I did manage to avoid the chips, dip, hummus, and pita chips so I was pretty pleased with myself.

I realize that a lot of people don’t like the Dukan Diet for lots of reasons. But it worked for me to lose the weight, and so far in consolidation, I’m keeping the weight off, so I’m happy with it. Best of all the elimination of refined carbs is really keeping me sane and emotionally stable which is worth all the effort.

 

*Disclaimer: This blog serves to document my experience and my experience only. None of the posts are intended to advise anyone on what he or she should do. None of the posts are intended to recommend what I have done to anyone. People interested in losing weight should speak to their doctor and make a decision in conjunction with said physician.  

