Ok, so yesterday I started really following the rules of the consolidation phase on the Dukan Diet.

After reaching my goal weight last fall I spent two months terrified of gaining the weight back so I fluttered around in this arbitrary no-man’s-land between the cruise and consolidation phases. I didn’t really start reintegrating the foods I was supposed to and the result was, I think, a lax attitude about things like peanuts, peanut butter, hamburgers, and sugar-free ice-cream (a poor choice instead of my summer staple of sugar-free fat-free frozen yogurt).

After gaining two pounds over the holidays I am, frankly, scared about regaining the weight I lost and know I need to get focused and back on the program. But, at the same time, I’m also scared about adding in starches and fruits, but I’m hoping that my returned attention with my food log and responsibility chart will result in a balancing out on the scale. I hope.

So, yesterday I ate a serving of fruit, 1 cup of strawberries and blueberries – one of Dukan’s recommended fruits -, as a late afternoon snack with some cottage cheese. I enjoyed it, but eating it felt, well, medicinal. I was eating it because I was supposed to.

Then at dinner time I ate pasta made 100% from garbanzo beans. I’d bought it two months ago when I was supposed to have started consolidation because it’s not made from wheat and I thought it would be fun to try since I love garbanzo beans so much. The kids had requested spaghetti and meatballs so I made it for them (meatballs without any breadcrumbs). Then when my husband came home he and I ate the meatballs and sauce with the bean pasta and a salad. It was quite good and I was able to easily stick with only one serving, in fact I had a little less just because I got full.

To me it tasted like the “fresh” pasta you can buy in the refrigerator section of the grocery store. Soft but firm in a weird but good way. My husband enjoyed it too, although he did argue that it had probably been too long since I’d had real pasta to be a very good judge of how it compares. He’s probably right. Although I don’t think the comparison matters as much as the fact that I liked it!

At bedtime I was a little anxious about it. It felt strange to have eaten the berries and the bean pasta. The mindset of the cruise phase of the diet had become so ingrained for me it felt familiar, comfortable, and safe. I’m not so good with change.

But, I should be able to do this. I can. I just hope it doesn’t leave me wondering why I left the land of familiar, comfortable, and safe.

Deep breath. Onward.

