It was my mother-in-law’s birthday over the weekend and she and her husband came to our house for the weekend. My mother-in-law is as skinny as can be and doesn’t really like dessert. Her husband, on the other hand, is overweight, has diabetes, and had a heart attack a number of years ago. He’s also got quite a few food issues himself and he and I used to be “partners in crime” when it  came to eating.

This time around I decided to try to figure out a dessert that would be healthy for him, possible for me to eat, and that my mother-in-law (who doesn’t like sweets) might enjoy.

I decided to make a cake out of my chocolate oat bran muffins recipe. It was a snap. Even easier than I had expected. I just made a batch and poured the whole amount into an 8 inch cake pan sprayed with cooking spray. Then, I made a second batch for the second layer. Easy-peasy. 1/12th of the cake equals one 2 tbsp serving of at bran. And let me tell you 1/12th of the cake is a lot larger of a piece than I’d ever take of regular cake. It felt decadent even though it was 100% on plan.

For the frosting I took low-fat cream cheese, non-fat Greek yogurt, vanilla extract, and some Splenda and mixed them together. This made such a delicious combination that now I’m contemplating how to make an oat bran carrot muffin to top with this frosting. All Duakn Diet friendly and it was delicious to boot.

Chocolate Oat Bran Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
Makes an 8 inch 2 layer cake
1/12th of the cake equals the 2 tbsp of oat bran required eat day for Cruise

Recipe works in Dukan Diet phases: Attack, Cruise, Consolidation, & Maintenance

For the cake:
1 double batch of chocolate oat bran muffin batter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Mix a double batch of chocolate oat bran muffin batter and evenly divide between two 8 inch cake pans sprayed with cooking spray.
Bake in oven for 25-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out mostly clean but with a few crumbs. (Not wet, not totally dry.)
Allow to cool in the pans for 5-10 minutes then transfer cakes to a wire cooling rack.

For the frosting:
2 1/2 8 oz packages of light cream cheese
3/4 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp Splenda

Mix all ingredients in a stand mixer until blended and smooth.
When the cakes are cool, fill, assemble, and frost cake.

You will have enough frosting to fill and frost the entire cake. There may be a bit left over which I made into chocolate frosting by adding equal parts unsweetened cocoa powder and Splenda until I liked the taste. Then, I used this to pipe “Happy Birthday Nana” onto the cake. It worked nicely.

I served it with fresh strawberries and blueberries and it was a huge hit.

