One really happy thing I learned about this diet (and it was even happier that I learned it right before Halloween) is that pumpkin is actually considered a low carb vegetable and allowed on The Dukan Diet on the vegetable days.

This make me happy because now I mix spoonfuls into my oat bran in the morning and bake it into oat bran muffins and it feels like such a treat.

Even better was the realization that using pumpkin, egg white, and fat free evaporated milk I could make a pumpkin custard that is entirely Dukan allowed on any vegetable day. I ate this for dessert on Thanksgiving while everyone else was eating pie and I didn’t feel even the slightest twinge of deprivation. I mix a dash of Splenda into some plain non-fat Greek yogurt and I swear it’s like whipped cream on top.

Pumpkin Custard
Serves 4-6
Good for Cruise, Consolidation, Maintenance

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup egg whites (or 3 large egg whites)
  • 2/3 cup Splenda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 can pure pumpkin
  • 1 can (12 oz) fat free evaporated milk

Instructions:

  • Bake at 325 in a hot water bath for 50 minutes
  • Beat egg whites, Splenda, and spices in a stand mixer.
  • Mix in Pumpkin.
  • Mix in milk & vanilla.
  • Pour into a pie plate and bake.
  • Remove from oven when a knife inserted in the center comes out (mostly) clean.
  • Turn off the oven and crack the oven door. Allow custard to cool in the oven.
