The past 36 hours or so have been a bit nutty.

Yesterday morning I woke up after a surprisingly good night’s sleep. My husband was away and I’d let my 7 year old sleep in my room with me. She is a soothing bed companion with her steady rhythmic breathing and her uncommon stillness.

But, once up, I felt shot out of a cannon. On my own while my husband was away on business I had to get both kids ready for school, fed breakfast, lunches packed, myself ready for work, lunch packed, and out the door on time. Nearly every household goes through this in the morning and so I don’t think I’m so special but it’s a somewhat jarring way to start the day and I often feel particularly sensitive to it.

So the day beings in a frenzied rush, per usual, and off to work I go. I left work early to go to the eye doctor to figure out what the weird flashing in my eye over the weekend and the odd eye pain I’ve been feeling all week were about. It took me nearly an hour to get from work to the doctor’s office in the middle of the afternoon, which was weird. There must have been accidents on the roads that I couldn’t see because traffic was crazy.

Once I arrived at the eye doctor I waited another hour to be seen.

After finally getting in to see the doctor, and a thorough exam, it is determined that there is nothing wrong with my eye, it was all just a fluke, nothing to worry about, and hey, I have perfect vision, hooray for me.

Then I have to make the rush hour trek from the doctor’s office to my kids’ schools to pick them up… with my eyes dilated to the point that I looked like an alien monster from a movie with black eyes. Really. Really. Weird.

Even weirder was having to drive, at dusk, with sunglasses on, with my distance vision perfectly fine, but everything the car blurry as can be.

I got my daughter first, then en route to pick up my son my husband called. His plane arrived early and he was almost back at home. This was great news (someone with non-dilated eyes was going to have to help with homework after all!) but in a flash I realized that I was not prepared for dinner so on the fly I suggested we meet in town for dinner. Which we did.

Milestone moment.

We had a perfectly lovely meal, in a restaurant, with both kids (ages 4 & 7) with virtually no fighting, yelling, or distractions. The four year old sat in his seat, colored nicely, ate all of his dinner, and generally behaved so well it almost made me cry. We may actually be growing up as a family. It’s so nice.

Once home, it’s fully dark out and I’m still wearing my sunglasses (which I did all through dinner!). My husband does the kids’ homework with them, I give my son a bath and get him ready for bed, my husband takes care of reading to the kids (because I still can’t see) and in the 20 minutes I’m waiting for him to finish I fall asleep in bed. It is now 8pm.

Five and a half hours later, at 1:30 am, my daughter awakens me because it’s her first night without her night light and she woke up and was feeling a little uncertain. She wanted me to tuck her in and sit with her until she’s feeling comfortable again. Fine. No problem. All part of being a mom.

Once she’s settled I go to the bathroom and then go back to bed.

And wait.

And wait.

And wait.

And wait to fall back to sleep.

I never do. My body seems to think that the 5 1/2 hours I’ve slept already is it and I need to be awake for the day.

At about 3 am I finally gave up and went downstairs. There, on my computer I realized that this storm I’ve been hearing about “Sandy” is turning into the storm of the millennium and is set to hit us like a ton of bricks (if you can believe the forecasters).

At 5:30 am I head back up to bed hoping to get a little rest before the day begins and wouldn’t you know I fall back to sleep around 6:30 am and am awakened at 7:30 am by my husband sitting up to realize that we’ve overslept and we have 20 minutes to get the kids up, dressed, fed, lunches packed, and off to school. Hooray!

I’ve spent the whole day today disaster planning.

Buying drinking water (for when the water ceases to be potable).

Buying foods that will keep out of the fridge (for when we lose power).

Prepping stove top meals (for when all I have is my gas cook top on which to cook).

Bottling up water to cook with (also for when the water ceases to be potable).

I’m exhausted. And I’m wondering when this ends.

We’re facing the possibility of a 4-5 day hurricane. My basement will flood. It is inevitable. It is depressing to contemplate.

I’m not even sure why I started telling this tale in the first place.

Oh, yes, the middle of the night! I was ravenous. I had a salad with grilled chicken on top of it for dinner and I ate about two thirds of it before giving it to my husband to finish. Something about my eyes being dilated made me lose my appetite. So, 11 hours later, after I’d been awake for 3 hours in the middle of the night, I was ravenous.

I had a glass of skim milk and an Atkins low-carb protein bar I’d been wanting to try. It was delicious and it really hit the spot. Hunger was curbed and I think it’s actually when helped me go back to sleep.

But it was weird to be eating in the middle of the night.

I don’t know where I’m going with this.

Now, I’m really just rambling.

Sorry.

