Scale: 154

Change since two week ago: -3.5

Total change: -35

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 2
  • Drink my water: 2
  • Have my oat bran: 5
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 1

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

I know that a large part of this change has been the result of being so terribly sick for a week. I’m smart enough not to start thinking that I’m on another weight-loss roll. I know things are slowing down.

But, I will confess that it feels good to see the scale firmly below the 157.5 mark. If nothing else, maybe this will have worked as an unplanned plateau buster.

I’ve been coming back slowly these past couple of days with the food. Just getting back into the routine of eating and trying not to push my stomach too much. Truthfully, getting back into the routine of drinking enough water was enough of a focus for a few days.

My goal for next week is pretty simple: try not to gain. With a full week of eating normally I think I’ll be lucky if I can avoid a rebound. So, for today, I’m telling myself I’ll be happy with no change next week. Let’s see if I can remember that next week when I get on the scale!

At this point I’m 8 pounds from my final goal: 146 pounds, which would be down 100 pounds from my highest weight ever.

Because I suspect that it’s going to be very slow going from this point forward I’ve got those 8 pounds broken down into three smaller goals:

  1. Lose 2 pounds to get to 152, the weight this diet plan told me I should shoot for.
  2. An additional 3 pounds to get to 149, because I’d like to have bottom weight on the scale at the doctor’s office not  have to klunk over to 150 when I’m getting weighed.
  3. Then the final 3 pounds to get to 146, a normal BMI and the century mark.

Of course, before I got sick I had maintained my weight for about a month so it’s possible this ride is over and I’m going to have to move on to consolidation and be happy with what I’ve achieved. And truth be told, I am, happy with what I’ve achieved. I really really am.

But it would also be nice to see those 8 pounds go. I keep talking about switching to the consolidation phase before Thanksgiving, but that’s 8 pounds to lose in 4 weeks and I don’t think that’s at all realistic at this point in my journey. I think I’ll be lucky to see two or three pounds go in the next month.

The odd part is that I don’t really have any major need to change how I’m eating. Yes, I’d like to move on to consolidation so I can get started with maintaining this new weight part and getting the food plan I’m going to use as my abstinence established. But, when I think about changing I come up against the fact that this food plan is making me feel good and I don’t feel like stopping. I feel good mentally, emotionally, and physically. I have no anxiety, I’m sleeping well, and I’m starting to really enjoy exercising again. It’s not broken, so why would I bother trying to fix anything?

I’ll see where I am four weeks from today and I’ll decide then. But for today, I’m going to keep on trucking.

