Scale: 159

Change since two weeks ago: -0.5

Total change: -30

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 6
  • Drink my water: 7
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 4

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

I’m actually ok with this.

I had debated not weighing myself today since I have my period and since I had to eat a salad yesterday on my pure protein day. But then I realized that next week I have to go out on Tuesday night and I’ll be eating late, eating restaurant food, and not have any control over what type of food is served. So, I figured postponing the weigh in a week won’t really be anything of an advantage for me and I get a little squirrely in the head not knowing.

I was surprised at my reaction to the scale this morning because previously I would have been frustrated to see it move such a small amount. But today I’m feeling ok about it. The closer I get to my goal the slower the scale moves. I have never been below 158.5 in my adult life so breaking through this floor is going to be tough. I’ll probably have to go back on the “attack” phase of the diet again in order to get through this plateau.

But for right now it feels good to know that just going about my life and living so easily with this food plan is keeping me where I want to be. I’ve always been so thrown by anything that disrupts my plan that it’s nice to see that I’ve been able to roll with so many challenges to the diet and not only be ok emotionally but to still see results, even small ones. It’s also so nice to not feel deprived and distressed over the food plan and to still be able to enjoy eating.

I also had a realization recently that has made me feel better about my progress. I realized that when I was at my “pre-baby weight” five years ago I had some strict rules around when I weighed myself. Some still apply now:

  1. In the morning
  2. Before eating or drinking anything
  3. After peeing and blowing my nose
  4. Naked on the scale

Those are pretty standard. It’s always been partly to get the lowest possible number, but also because it keeps me from compulsively weighing myself throughout the day, at night, or on unfamiliar scales. I mean, I’ve made my feelings about using different scales known.

But the one thing that is different now from before is that then I used to only weigh myself after a run. I was talking with my husband about that this morning and he voiced what I had been thinking: That weight I always thought I was was probably artificially low because I weighed myself after running, after losing so much water through sweat.

I tested it once years ago and I could lose up to 1.5 pounds of water during a run. That means that weight I’ve been holding up in my head for five years now as my goal, that 158.5 number, was probably more like 159.5 or even 160. Which means that I’m there. I’ve reached that goal. I am what I weighed before getting pregnant with my son. I’m not going to quibble over a half pound.

Now, as I discovered when I tried on all my clothes, my body is shaped differently after another pregnancy and while I weigh the same I don’t look the same. I’m actually smaller on top than I was and bigger in the waist and thighs.

So, I’m happy with where I am, but I’m not finished yet.

I’m going to give myself another regular week to get past my period and see if the scale moves more than 1/2 pound next week (although I think the days of it moving 3.5 pounds in a week are over) and then consider a plateau buster.

I’m also getting back into my yoga routine and my walking. The lighter I get the more tempted I am to start jogging each time I’m out walking. I might just see where that impulse leads me.

Best of all, I’m still feeling optimistic and hopeful.

It feels good.

