Scale: 160.5

Change since last week: -1

Total change: -28.5

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 7
  • Drink my water: 7
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 4

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

Well, now I’m back to where I was two weeks ago.

I’m trying to focus on my non-scale victories from the past few weeks; the strangers who have given me compliments, the smaller sized clothes I’ve bought, the comfort I have exercising. But I’ll admit that it’s hard to stay positive.

Is this a plateau?

Should I go back to the first, intense, phase of the diet to jump start again?

Should I give up and move on to the third phase the ends weight loss and will stabilize my weight?

Should I just keep on going as I have been in the hopes that things will balance out next week?

Next week I won’t be able to weigh myself because I’ll be at my mother-in-laws house and I won’t have my scale with me. This means I have two weeks to wait before another weigh-in.

It’s insanely frustrating that I’m only 2 pounds away from my goal. I can see it, it seems so possible, but it also feels so elusive. I’m frustrated in part because while following the food plan still doesn’t give me any problems I’m scared that I’ve hit the end of the line and following the food plan isn’t going to be enough. I’m exercising (yesterday I biked 23 miles and felt great!) so I know I’m not neglecting that part.

I’m going to do some searches on the internet for what to do when you hit a plateau on this diet. Maybe there will be some suggestions. I remember in the book the doctor said that if you hit a plateau to stop eating carrots because they are high in sugar.

There are still good things happening here. I just have to figure out how to get the ball rolling in the right direction again. It would be easier if I knew I was cheating and could clean up the food in some ways, but I’m not.

I’ve become a big believer that I can’t make things up for myself and that I have to follow a real plan, one not created by my crazy brain. Now, I just have to find out where to find that plan and what it’s supposed to be.

 

