Scale: 161.5

Change since last week: +1

Total change: -27.5

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 7
  • Drink my water: 7
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 3

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

I’m actually ok with this. I was going to skip the weigh-in this week because I am getting my period today and I knew that this was going to result in a fluctuation on the scale. I had even contemplated skipping this week’s weigh-in so that I wouldn’t be discouraged.

But, then this morning I decided against it. I decided that all the reasons I had come up with for why it would make sense to skip this week’s weigh-in were reasonable they were still rationalizations.

I decided the reality is I would be avoiding the scale because I’m afraid of what it would say and, more importantly, because I’m afraid that the number would mess with my head and derail my progress. But I’m working on letting go of that eating-disordered thinking and moving towards acceptance.

I’ve learned a few things in my journeys that made me get on that scale anyway:

  1. This journey is not linear. The weekly porgress of my weight loss ebbs and flows depending on myriad things with my body.
  2. I did stay on track this week with my food plan so I have no room to beat myself up.
  3. When I no longer have my period this “weight gain” will correct itself.
  4. Facing the scale, and the fear it can bring me, makes me stronger than avoiding it.
  5. The number on the scale is simply data and not a judgement.
  6. I will still achieve my goal, even if today feels like a set back because my focus remains the same.
  7. Slow and steady wins the race.

I’m genuinely not discouraged this morning. Now, if in a few weeks this has not been “corrected” I may start thinking about the concept of plateaus and plateau-breakers, but for now, I’m ok.

Onward.

