Scale: 163

Change since two weeks ago: -1.5

Total change: -26

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 7
  • Drink my water: 7
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 6

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

Today I am wondering why I can’t ever really be satisfied with my progress. I try to remind myself that this is about progress not perfection but it gets hard sometimes.

I should be happy that I’ve lost another 1.5 pounds. My total loss at this point is 26 pounds. I’m only 4.5 pounds away from the goal that is most important to me. But I confess I wanted to see a bigger loss after a two week gap in weighing myself.

It also frustrates me that I’m seeing my weight loss slow in weeks that I have done a lot of walking. The diet plan calls for 30 minutes of walking a day. The weeks that I get it done almost every day are the weeks with lower weight loss numbers. The weeks that I don’t exercise seem to have the weight fall off.

I’m charting everything I do and eat so I know that on weeks with more exercise my food intake isn’t greater, or less “on plan”, the food has been shockingly consistent.

I don’t know…

Funny.

Of course I don’t know.

If I “knew” I wouldn’t be in this situation in the first place.

For today I choose to accept my ignorance and let go of the frustration.

This morning the scale showed a 1.5 pound drop. That’s good.

I’ve lost a total of 26 pounds. That’s good.

My old clothes almost fit again. That’s great.

I’m closer to weighing what I did before having my son 4 years ago than at any point since. That’s great.

I’m not losing weight, “fast enough” to meet my impatience. That’s really not a big deal at all.

There is so much more good here and there isn’t really any “bad”. Maybe just one thing that mediocre.

For today, I’ll take it.

