My friend is arriving in a few hours for a week long visit with her four kids. It will be just the two of us with children ages 15, 12, 7, 5, 5, and 4.

Strangely enough, it isn’t the ratio of children to adults that has me freaked out. The truth is that I’m nervous about how I’m going to pull off my diet while they are here because they are all vegetarians.

With a nearly 100% protein diet consisting of meat, dairy, eggs, and some vegetables (on alternating days) I’m worried.

Add to that incompatibility the fact that the 15 year old daughter of my friend is a serious runner and has been having trouble taking in enough calories to keep her healthy. I pause here to ponder the wonder of that for a second. The result is that everything she eats has to be full fat and calorie dense.

Are we not Jack Sprat and his wife?

My fridge now has full fat yogurt and non-fat yogurt sitting side by side. My friend isn’t really judgmental, and she’s known me long enough and well enough to know a lot of my history with food.

But I’m still worried.

I could probably get through the week with dairy and eggs only, but I don’t want to.

I know that my anticipatory worry will not get me anywhere. I just have to trust that if I focus on one day at a time, one meal at a time, things will work out.

This needs to be my mantra for the next week. One day at a time. One meal at a time.

Of course, next week my mother is coming which is a whole other issue! A whole other blog post!

