Scale: 177

Change since last week: -3

Total change: -12

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 6
  • Drink my water: 5
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 2

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

Baffled. That’s the only word for it. I had trouble this week with the food plan and the exercise. It was raining so much I had difficulty getting outside to do my walks. Yet, I was painting two rooms in my house and I was up and down the ladder a lot, reaching, stretching, lifting. Maybe that counts as “exercise”. Or at least my body thought it was.

I also got my haircut this week. A lot of hair. About 5 inches off. Could 5 inches worth of hair be a pound of hair? I don’t know. But my crazy mind wants to think so to lessen the possibility that I will think that my “poor performance” this week in my consistency and still losing weight means that I can slack off next week and still expect the scale to move.

What was wrong with my food plan this week? Nothing really, except for one day that got wacky, but only near the end. I had some full fat cheese because I didn’t have any other food choices available to me and then later when I ate protein and vegetables I realized after that there were little breadcrumb crunchies mixed in that I had forgotten about. Carbs. I felt terrible. Guilty. Afraid that it would trigger a slip and slide down the wrong path. My husband told me to shake it off and not have it get me down. I tried. It mostly worked.

Following the plan was hard this week and I was afraid my motivation was slipping, but it seems to be rebounding from the scale’s results this morning.

I learn the same lesson over and over but never hold onto it for long: I need to keep my head down, put one foot in front of the other, make the best effort I can in the moment, pace myself, focus on just for today, and things work out in the end. Luckily, even though I can’t hold onto this reality the universe keeps reminding me.

Slow and steady wins the race.

