Scale: 180

Change since last week: -2.5

Total change: -9

How many days out of the past 7 did I:

  • Follow my food plan: 7
  • Drink my water: 7
  • Have my oat bran: 7
  • Do 30 minutes of exercise: 4

Today I am feeling this way about my progress:

I am feeling cautiously optimistic today. This seems to be working. Not only in terms of the scale, but in terms of my ability to cope with the food. I have a whole long thought on my coping skills that I’m going to put into another post.

This past week I’ve had no persistent hunger, almost no food cravings, very little temptation, and most importantly, I have felt totally clear headed. The exhaustion I felt last week has worn off and I’ve been feeling more optimistic about life each day.

I think the most important part has been the extent to which I’ve felt clear headed. I’m not obsessively thinking about food. I’m not even really thinking about food much at all beyond meal planning to make sure I have the foods I’m allowed to eat in the house, on hand, and ready to go. But the obsessive food thoughts, the intrusive and persistent presence of food is gone from my head.

Maybe it’s helped that I’ve been doing household projects all week and I’ve been obsessively thinking about paint colors, accent lamps, and how best to knock down part of a wall. Having other things to do with my brain has been a relief. Having my brain willing to do other things has also been a relief.

For today, the fog is gone.

